History : Bunga Raya
Bunga Raya or Hibiscus Rosa Sinensis is the national flower for Malaysia. In 2010 the nation celebrated 50 years of glorification of Bunga Raya, a symbol of the Malaysian loyalty in upholding the 5 core values of the institution. The vibrant colours of the flower represent the harmony among all races in the country and its unique number of petals resembles the 5 ‘Rukun Negara’. The Bunga Raya blooms throughout the year it is commonly found in most Malaysian gardens. After achieving independence, the Ministry of Agriculture was directed to recommend an appropriate flower to be selected as the national flower. On 28 July 1960, the flower was declared as the National Flower for the Federation of Malaya. When Singapore, Sabah and Sarawak joined Malaya to form Malaysia, the Bunga Raya continued to be the national flower till now.

Theme Explanation : Bunga Raya
Beginning from the year 2000, Asia-Pacific Broadcasting Union with the help of various parties in the country have organized ROBOCON, it has been proudly recognized as one of the important events in the yearly calendar for higher education sector. It is an event which promotes relationship and healthy competitiveness among students from various institutions around the region.

This year, ROBOCON 2011 will once again be the arena of dreams for young inventors from higher educational institutions to display their knowledge and creativity. The national ROBOCON 2011 theme, the Bunga Raya, is based on the concept of ‘Unity for 1 Nation’. The game is centred on the construction of the Bunga Raya, which symbolizes the core essence of a strong Malaysia.

The word bunga in Malay means "flower", whilst raya in Malay means "celebration". The five petals represent the five Rukun Negara of Malaysia. They also symbolize the courage, life and rapid growth of the nation. The Sea of Challenges represents the ordeals faced by the nation during the passage of building Malaysia.